

Technical Working Group of the Alaska Statewide Broadband Advisory Board

Alaska Department of Commerce, Community & Economic Development Minutes for Regular Meeting - June 19, 2024, at 9:30 AM AKST.

These draft minutes were prepared by staff and have not yet been approved by the Technical Working Group.

Attendance

Present:

Members: Daniel Kirschbaum, Martin Marshall, Christine O'Connor, Matthew Peterson, and Michael Willmon.

Staff Present: Thomas Lochner, Director; Lisa Von Bargen, Deputy Director; and Kalynn Himes, Administrative Specialist.

Members Absent: Tony Dodge, Mathew Narus.

I. Call to Order and Roll Call

Christine O'Connor called the meeting to order at 9:33am.

Kalynn Himes called the roll, and five members of the Technical Working Group were present. Quorum was met.

II. Approval of Agenda

Motion by Martin Marshall to approve the agenda as presented. Seconded by Matthew Peterson. Approved by Unanimous Consent.

III. Declarations of Conflict of Interest

None this meeting. Previously, Shawn Williams from PDI requested a review of the potential conflict of interest by members of the Technical Working Group providing the technology prioritization. Mr. Williams explained it was likely several members of the Technical Working Group would be participating in the development of applications for the upcoming Alaska Broadband Grant Program (using BEAD funds) in which this technology prioritization recommendation may be used. Sara Chambers, Boards and Regulations Advisor, responded that she was in the process of addressing the issue with the Department of Law.

IV. Approval of Minutes from Prior Meetings

a. Approval of Minutes of the Regular Meeting of June 7, 2024

Motion by Michael Willmon to approve the Regular Meeting Minutes from June 7, 2024 as presented. Seconded by Matthew Peterson. Approved by Unanimous Consent.

All members of the Working Group participated in a detailed discussion about the purpose of evaluating the technologies, the varied ways in which the technologies would be applied to different projects, the ways the technologies should be evaluated, and the format of the recommendation deliverable that is the most useful. Each member shared thoughts on creating a concrete scoring matrix, that can show what works best where and the cost difference as every application will be different. Each member is going to individually work on their input for this scoring matrix and will discuss as a group at our next meeting on July 2, 2024. VIII. **New Business** None. IX. **Public Comment** None. Sara Chambers explained she would follow up on Public Comment from previous meeting. X. **Board Member Business from the Floor** None.

It was determined the next meeting would be held on Tuesday, July 2, 2024, from 9:00am-10:30am.

Motion by Michael Willmon to adjourn. Seconded by Matthew Peterson and approved unanimously.

Christine O'Conner began the discussion by thanking Michael Willmon for putting together the technology

recommendations they, and the Statewide Broadband Advisory Group, provide to the Alaska Broadband

prioritization matrix for use by the Working Group. She also reminded the Working Group the

Michael Willmon provided an explanation of the matrix and the descriptions he provided.

a. Discussion Item: Prioritization of Non-Fiber Technologies

V. Subcommittee Reports

Staff Reports

VII. Unfinished Business

Office are advisory only.

None.

None.

VI.

XI.

XII.

Next Meeting Date

Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 12:13pm on June 19, 2024.